Wanna Lose Weight? Laugh Your A$$ Off!

Years ago, I decided I needed to lose some weight.  So I asked my doctor for a little help.  Apparently, she thought I was looking for advice.  I was looking for something a bit more innovative, like drugs.  She sat back in her chain, thought for a moment, then said, “Don’t eat so much.” 

Excuse me?  I paid fifteen dollars for that?  What else have you got, Doc?  Because that plan doesn’t seem to be working too well for you.  Okay, I said that on the inside.  She was bigger than me.  Besides, she had a little too much control over the pharmaceutical cocktail I took each morning.  “Hey Doc, should I really be taking Arsenic?”

Okay, let’s put things in perspective.  There are, after all, varying degrees of fat.  I wasn’t huge, though the bathroom scale did wince when it saw me step out of the shower.  For that matter, so did my wife.  I remember right before my grandson was born, my wife took a picture of my daughter and I standing belly to belly.  We looked like two bulldozers fighting for the same parking space.

I’ve finally started losing weight.  In the past three months, I’ve lost 38 pounds, and I did it without surgery, without drugs, and without a fad diet.  My wife decided we need to start eating healthier, so instead of southern fried chicken and mashed potatoes, I get Italian baked chicken and broccoli.  Suffice to say I eat a lot less.  Maybe the doctor was right after all.

We also started exercising.  We go to the gym 3-5 days a week, and it’s amazing how quickly the body fat started to melt off.  I feel stronger, I’m more relaxed, and I’ve lost five inches from my chest and belly.  All told, this is the best thing I could ever have done for myself.  And my wife is losing weight faster than I am.

One of my greatest motivators is knowing I can go to the theme park with my grandson this year and not only fit into the roller coaster seat, but actually be able to get back out.  I knew I was in trouble last year when one of the attendants yelled, “Get me a tub of grease!”

Okay, in case you hadn’t figured it out yet, I view my weight with about the same level of sincerity as most other things in life – I look for the humor.  As I mentioned in an earlier post, one of the most liberating times in my life is the day I learned to laugh at myself.  Besides, if you’ve ever seen me try to run … well, I’m not the only person laughing.

Here’s the thing.  Laughter helps you lose weight.   When you laugh, it’s possible to exercise every muscle in your body at once.  And laughter burns calories, lots of them.  But the benefits continue long after the laugh has subsided.  Laughter is nature’s best tranquilizer.  It takes away stress, and too much stress can wreak havoc on your body’s metabolism, making weight loss an almost impossible goal.

How much weight can you lose by laughing?  Well, that’s hard to say.  But if you’ll make laughter a more important part of your day, you’ll improve the quality of your life.  And that makes worthwhile efforts such as weight loss a lot easier to handle.  So give it a try.  Laugh it up.  What do you have to lose?  (Don’t look now, but it’s right behind you!)

Copyright 2011 – Dave Glardon

About Health and Humor - by Dave Glardon

Dave Glardon is a writer, speaker, and stand-up comedian. He has written hundreds of articles relating to humor in our world, and has performed for audiences across the entire United States. In this blog, he shares his insights with the goal of helping you achieve a higher level of physical and mental well-being through a healthy sense of humor.
This entry was posted in Laughter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wanna Lose Weight? Laugh Your A$$ Off!

  1. BARB BEST says:

    This is a super size column of belly laughs! You give inspiration to those of us who are a tad roly-poly or big-boned. (I think I just lost 50 calories cackling with glee!) Barb
    http://barbsblast.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

